2020 Winners & Excellence Awardees

Register Now

On 10 December 2020 the UK mortgage industry gathered together virtually for Mortgage Introducer’s first ever digital awards ceremony, to celebrate excellence within the market. Here are the excellence awardees and winners from the night.


Quick links

BDM of the Year

Alex Moffat - Scottish Building Society

Caroline Brown - Halifax Intermediaries

Fiona Robertson - Foundation Home Loans

Hanif Hussain - The Mortgage Lender

Holly Morrison - Paragon Bank

Isha Thomson - Skipton Building Society

Julianna Maxwell - NatWest Group

Kieran Mullen - Canada Life

Laura McDonald - Vitality

Martin Bloe - Together

Pamela Young - Virgin Money

Rosie Baltacha - Barclays

Sarah Donaldson - Nationwide Building Society

The NatWest Award for Best Overall Broker in Scotland

Winners of the seven-specific regional broker awards will automatically progress to become excellence awardees for this category. The recipient of this award will be announced at the Scottish Mortgage Summit & Awards gala.

The Barclays Award for Broker of the Year (Regional – Aberdeen/North)

Aberdein Considine

Absolut Money

CARA Mortgage Services

First Mortgage

Gail Reid Mortgage Services

Mandy Smith Mortgage Adviser Ltd

Moneywise Mortgages

Your Expert Group

Broker of the Year (Regional – Dumfries & Borders)

Borders Mortgage Hub

DL Mortgage Services Ltd

Financial Services Scotland

First Mortgage

Richard Jennings Mortgage Services

Thomson Mortgages

Broker of the Year (Regional – Highlands & Islands)

CARA Mortgage Services

First Mortgage

MacKenzie Mortgages

Munro Noble

Your Expert Group

Building Society of the Year

Cumberland Building Society

Leeds Building Society

Mansfield Building Society

Nationwide Building Society

Penrith Building Society

Scottish Building Society

Skipton Building Society

Business Leader of the Year (Lender)

Clare Richardson - Bank of Scotland

Daniel O'Connor - LendInvest

Fraser Ingram - Yorkshire Building Society

Graeme Muirhead - Barclays

Jamie Ritchie - Santander UK

Jonathan Evans - Skipton Building Society

Paul Denton - Scottish Building Society

Paul Gaffney - Leeds Building Society

Paul McFarlane - NatWest Group

Excellence in Philanthropy & Community Service

Bank of Scotland Foundation


BM Solutions

First Mortgage

Scottish Building Society

Scottish Mortgage Investment Trust

GI Provider of the Year

Aviva Financial Advisers

Canada Life

LV= General Insurance


Source Insurance

Standard Life

Uinsure LTD

Later Life Lender of the Year

Canada Life

Leeds Building Society

Legal & General


Scottish Building Society

Lifetime Achievement Award

The recipient of this award will be contacted weeks before the event and will be announced at the Scottish Mortgage Summit and Awards gala

New Brokerage of the Year

Aimee Kyle Mortgages & Protection

Mark Larkins Mortgages

The Mortgage Gurus

WHA Mortgage Services

Specialist Lender of the Year

Aldermore Bank

BM Solutions

Clydesdale Bank

Hodge Bank

Lowry Capital

Paragon Bank

Precise Mortgages (OSB Group)

Roma Finance

Scottish Building Society

Shawbrook Bank

The Mortgage Lender

The Mortgage Works


United Trust Bank

Surveyor of the Year

Graham + Sibbald

Home Report Company

Lomond & Co

Shepherd Chartered Surveyors

Walker Fraser Steele

The Canada Life UK Award for Young Achiever (under 40)

Andrew MacGregor - The Mortgage Advice Club

Christopher Cherry - Mortgage Time

Darren Hunter - Hunter Wealth Management

Karolina Wrobel - The Mortgage Finance Store

Kathryn Frame - London & Country Mortgages

Kevin Hamill - First Mortgage

Steven Barr - First Mortgage

Steven Brogan - First Mortgage

The CARA Mortgage Services Award for Woman of Distinction

Ashley Erskine - Erskine Financial

Carolyn Dunion - McKendry Dunion Financial

Claire Taddei - Mortgage Advice Bureau (Clear Mortgage Solutions)

Debbie Miller - NatWest Group

Elaine Ewing - The Lending Channel

Hazel Johnston - Legal & General

Kiera Carlyle - Scottish National Investment Bank

Laura Carson - Independent Mortgage Store

Louise Drummond - Leeds Building Society

Lynne Paterson - First Mortgage

The First Mortgage Award for Protection Provider of the Year

Aviva Financial Advisers

Cirencester Friendly


Legal & General



The Halifax Intermediaries Award for Broker of the Year (Regional – Edinburgh)

Aberdein Considine

AIW Mortgages LTD

CARA Mortgage Services

Condies Wealth

Exchange Mortgages

First Mortgage

Get Mortgage

Hunter Wealth Managment

M & W Mortgages Ltd

Malleny Mortgage Solutions

Mortgage Time

PW & Partners

Rettie Financial Services

Stisi Group

Trinity Finance

Trusted Mortgage Advice

Your Expert Group

The LV=GI Award for Business Leader of the Year – (Broker)

Charlie Bradley - Mortgage Advice Solutions

Craig Brown - Legal & General

Darren Polson - Aberdein Considine

Dominic Taddei - Mortgage Advice Bureau (Clear Mortgage Solutions)

Helen MacKenzie - MacKenzie Mortgages

Ian McGrail - First Mortgage

Stuart Mair - CARA Mortgage Services

Susan Clarke - Mortgage Central (Scotland)

The Mortgage Advice Bureau UK Award for Mainstream Lender of the Year


Halifax Intermediaries


Nationwide for Intermediaries

NatWest Group

Skipton Building Society


Virgin Money

The Mortgage Lender Award for Specialist Broker of the Year

GO Financial Services

Specialist Finance Centre Scotland

Specialist Mortgages

Trinity Finance

Your Expert Group

The Lending Channel

The Nationwide Building Society UK Award for Broker of the Year (Regional) – Glasgow

Aberdein Considine

CARA Mortgage Services

First Mortgage

H D Consultants

Independent Mortgage Store

Kyle Financial Ltd

Home Loan Services (MAB)

Your Next Step

The Paragon Bank Award for Broker of the Year (Regional – Dundee & Fife)

CARA Mortgage Services

Carnegie Mortgage and Protection LTD

Clarity Mortgage Solutions

Condies Wealth

First Mortgage

Freedom Financial

Mortgage Advice Bureau Dundee

The Mortgage Finance Store

Trinity Finance

Your Expert Group

The Scottish Building Society Award for Broker of the Year (Regional) – Perth/Stirling/Falkirk (Central Region)

Aberdein Considine

CARA Mortgage Services

DL Mortgage Services Ltd

First Mortgage

HH Mortgage Consultancy

Mortgage Time

OnPoint Financial

Perth Mortgage Centre

Pre Plan Prosper Ltd

The Lending Channel

Your Expert Group

The Skipton Building Society Award for Rising Star of the Year (Broker)

Andrew Buchanan - Mortgage Advice Bureau (Clear Mortgage Solutions)

Darren Robinson - Mortgage Advice Bureau (Clear Mortgage Solutions)

Donald Connell - First Mortgage

Erin McMahon - Mirai Mortgages

Katie Dillon - Dillon Mortgages

Kieran Shishodia - First Mortgage

Lewis Brown - First Mortgage

Stuart Macmillan - CARA Mortgage Services

The Vitality Award for Distributor of the Year

In Partnership

Legal & General Mortgage Club


Secured Lending Options Ltd

Sesame Bankhall Group

SimplyBiz Mortgages

The Lending Channel

Thistle Finance